Onions!

I decided, given the real though unlikely possibility of Mr. Chili’s being in New Mexico for the Thanksgiving holiday, that I would put together a mini Thanksgiving dinner for supper tonight. I stopped at the market and bought a turkey breast, some stuffing, a couple of sweet potatoes, and some onions.

A long story short is that my traditional contribution to holiday meals is a dish of creamed onions. Now, I know what you’re probably thinking: “CREAMED onions? Ugh! How VILE!” and, really, I wouldn’t disagree with you if I haven’t had this dish. Honestly, “creamed” anything doesn’t really appeal to me – all I get from “creamed” as an adjective in front of food are horrid flashbacks of nasty, half-congealed things that make nightmarish sucking sounds as they’re forced out of cans. Such was the experiences of my childhood.

This recipe was originally given to me by my adopted mother, who messed with it a bit before giving it to me. I, in turn, fiddled with the recipe a little more, and I think I’ve found onion Nirvana. Trust me when I tell you, this is really very, very good.

tortilla-onion-slices1.jpg

Creamed Onions

Preheat your oven to 350. While that’s heating, combine 4 tablespoons of melted butter with 1 cup of bread crumbs (I use store-bought, Italian style crumbs) in a large frying pan and toast until slightly browned and fragrant. Set these aside and then melt 1 stick of butter and sautée 3 finely chopped onions – you don’t want them to brown; only let them get soft and translucent. Sprinkle 1/4 cup of flour over them (I use a small colander to make sure there are no lumps) and cook 3-5 minutes, stirring the whole time.

Once the flour is cooked, slowly add 2 cups of milk or cream (I do half milk and half whipping cream – I only eat this once or twice a year, and going low-fat seems a rip off). Season with salt and pepper, transfer to casserole, cover with crumbs, and bake 30-40 minutes or until the onions are thick and bubbly and the crumbs are crispy.

I make this a day ahead, skipping the baking step. The whole thing cools on the counter until it’s really cool (otherwise, condensation collects on the lid and the crumbs get mushy) and I stash it, covered, in the fridge. The next day, the casserole  gets popped, UNcovered, into the oven until it’s heated through and yummy. Then, my aunt-in-law, my twin brother-in-law, my daughter and I fight over the stuff at the holiday table.

7 Responses to “Onions!”

  1. Ten Things Tuesday « The Blue Door Says:

    […] some sweet potatoes, some stuffing and cranberry sauce, and I’ve put together a batch of creamed onions.  Trust me, you wish you lived at MY house tonight.  […]

  2. The Thanksgiving Meme « The Blue Door Says:

    […] dish would provoke a riot if it was left off the menu? Several folks have gotten pretty fond of my creamed onions (I know, I know – don’t knock ‘em till you’ve tried ‘em). Frankly, if […]

  3. Ten Things Tuesday « The Blue Door Says:

    […] 5.  Creamed onions. I know; I cringe writing it, just like I bet you cringe reading it, but trust me, this is sublime yumminess, especially when paired with the prime rib. […]

  4. Quick Hit: The Goddess is IN the Kitchen! « The Blue Door Says:

    […] Chili So far, I’ve finished the artichoke dip (part of which constitutes my lunch), the creamed onions (I know, I know; don’t knock it ’till you’ve tried it), and the carrots. […]

  5. White Trash Casserole « The Blue Door Says:

    […] I’m MORE than happy to do – and it’s sort of fallen to tradition for me to bring my mother’s creamed onions and the green bean […]

  6. Kitchen Elves « The Blue Door Says:

    […] for Bruder (who isn’t down with the whole prime rib thing – more for us!), a batch of creamed onions, a mushroom-onion-green-bean casserole (I’m making this one from scratch; I caved and made […]

  7. Kitchen Elf « The Blue Door Says:

    […] for Bruder (who isn’t down with the whole prime rib thing – more for us!), a batch of creamed onions, a mushroom-onion-green-bean casserole (I’m making this one from scratch; I caved and made […]

Leave a comment