Carrot Cake

I love how we kid ourselves.

My mother is very ill and, as a consequence of that illness, is averse to eating.  My grandmother, Goddess love her, put this recipe together for Mom thinking, no doubt, that it would be both pleasing and nutritionally dense.

She’s got it half right.

Truly, this is a glorious recipe.  The cake is heavy and satisfying and the frosting is sweet and light, but any hope one might have of gaining real nutritional benefit from the vegetables in the recipe is entirely negated by the fact that its base consists of two cups of sugar and a cup and a half of oil.

Seriously.

Start with the aforementioned two cups of sugar and a cup and a half of vegetable oil, add four eggs, and mix well.  Sift together 2 cups of flour, 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and salt, and 2 teaspoons of baking soda, then incorporate that into the sugar mixture (you may want to employ a stout wooden spoon for this; it’s a hearty batter that’s going to get heartier in a second).  To this, add in 3 cups of shredded carrots, a cup of shredded coconut, and 1/2 cup walnuts (more or less, depending on your preference.  I pounded them into tiny pieces, but you decide how big you want your bits to be.  I was also thinking, as I wrote this, that pecan pieces might be a lovely alternative to the walnuts…).

My grandmother’s recipe calls for baking the mix in a 9×13 pans at 350° for 45 minutes, but I baked 24 muffins and still had enough batter left over for a small cake.  I really didn’t pay much attention to the baking time (sorry about that!) but the toothpick test is reliable for this application.

The cream cheese frosting is the real reason that most of us eat carrot cake (it’s okay; you can admit it).  I monkeyed quite a bit with that part of the recipe, though I’m not sure I did it any real improvement.  My grandmother says to mix 1 3-ounce package of cream cheese with half a stick of butter and a teaspoon of vanilla, and add powdered sugar until it’s of spreading consistency.  I had an 8-ounce package of low-fat cream cheese and, since my math skills are abysmal on a good day, I winged it.  I put in a whole stick of butter (because 8 is more than 2×3, right?), a big blop of vanilla, a slightly bigger blop of whipping cream, and Goddess only knows how much powdered sugar.  My version came out more like icing than frosting, but it’s still exceedingly yummy.

I kid myself that it’s perfectly acceptable to eat this for breakfast, and the girls consider it a “healthy” after school snack.  Regardless of how healthy it may or may not be, it sure is tasty!

img_29291

Enjoy!

14 Responses to “Carrot Cake”

  1. nhfalcon Says:

    Isn’t this the mentaility that Bill Cosby was talking about in “Himself” when his kids asked for chocolate cake for breakfast?

    “Wait a minute – what’s in chocolate cake? Milk. Wheat. Eggs. That’s nutrition!”

    Chili’s great! Gives us the carrot cake… 🙂

  2. Mrs. Chili Says:

    I came THIS CLOSE to referencing Mr. Cosby, but I wasn’t sure how many people I’d confuse with the reference. I love that you have it… (and yes; it’s EXACTLY that mentality…)

  3. Ten Things Tuesday « The Blue Door Says:

    […] Sometime, it’s the little things that thrill me.  Yesterday, I wrote a post about carrot cake and how we here in the Chili household kid ourselves into thinking it’s good for us […]

  4. Ten Things Tuesday « The Blue Door Says:

    […] Sometime, it’s the little things that thrill me. Yesterday, I wrote a post about carrot cake and how we here in the Chili household kid ourselves into thinking it’s good for us […]

  5. Grammar Snob Says:

    I still reference many parts of “Himself” by Bill Cosby. One of my all time faves.

    And, chocolate cake for breakfast is one of the greatest things ever.

  6. SAA Says:

    OMG! That looks so good. By the way, I readily admit the reason I love carrot cake is the frosting. =)

  7. margihealing Says:

    Delightful!
    Just reading about it is nourishing… because the cake is good, and there is love in its making.
    The ultimate secretly-hidden-vegetable-in-a-cake is chocolate and beetroot cake.
    It has oil too.
    Who cares, as long as it’s non-GM, cold-pressed, and not rancid.

  8. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Margi, you’re absolutely right about the love part; even though I’m almost 100% Scots in ancestry, I swear there’s got to be some Italian or Jewish mother in me somewhere. If I love you, I cook for you.

    I’m pretty fond of zucchini bread, too, and there can be chocolate in that. I’ve never heard of beetroot and chocolate, though; do you have a recipe?

  9. Close to Home « The Blue Door Says:

    […] a little snack while we waited for the guys to get a move on.  I shared a carrot cake with Honey (my carrot cake is much better, but the frosting was heavenly – I do love cream cheese (cheesy, cheesy, […]

  10. gerry rosser Says:

    I have long refused to recognize that certain foods are appropriate for certain meals. My Honey is a bit more hidebound in this respect. Hey, can one be a “bit” hidebound?

  11. Wedding Dress Wednesday « The Blue Door Says:

    […] of different varieties with relative ease.  For those varieties, I’m leaning heavily toward my grandmother’s stellar carrot cake, something strawberry (though I haven’t decided between the dense, moist muffin or light, […]

  12. Ten Things Tuesday « The Blue Door Says:

    […] excited to be able to do it. Good thing I’ve got a couple of really amazing recipes (here, here, and […]

  13. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Just as an aside; I’ve substituted half the oil with unsweetened apple sauce to good effect. Though I haven’t tried replacing ALL the oil, I bet that, if you were really invested in making this more healthy, it would be worth a shot, though I suspect that the consistency of the finished cake would be affected.

  14. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Update; substituting ALL the oil for unsweetened apple sauce is PERFECTLY acceptable. Now, if I can just figure out how to reduce the sugar…

Leave a comment